Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Easter and eating April 5, 2010

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 1:26 pm

So how was your Easter? Much as I love chocolate, it was the four day weekend that was the biggest treat for me. We saw friends and family, and pottered about. I found the time to cut out the pattern pieces for my Study Hall skirt. It takes me ages to cut out pattern pieces and then fabrics – so I had to wait until I had a clear stretch of time in which to work. And before I could do that, there was plenty of indecisiveness on my part – what length to make the skirt, and in what size (I was between sizes, and wondered if I should be ambitious and make it on the small size. I opted to make it for the size I actually am, rather than could be – that seemed like the sensible thing to do…).

I’ve also had time for a bit of cooking – including a coffee cake covered in Mini Eggs (which meant I could eat the leftover Mini Eggs – another reason why making a smaller skirt would have been foolish). When I’m planning a meal, I often fall back on recipes I’ve used time and time again. I do try out new recipes, but I’m always more likely to go with the tried and tested. During the past week or two I’ve been busy trying new things, in part as a result of my fairy godmother at Abel and Cole. I received a package containing smoked tofu (which I had never tried before), delicious vegetable tortilla chips, Thai noodles, veggie burgers and more.

We tried the noodles and smoked tofu in a chow mein recipe from the BBC, and I’m not sure that was the best way to use smoked tofu. It really does taste smokey – I think perhaps some sort of dish involving a sticky barbecue sauce would have been a better idea. Will try that next time!

My favourite item from the delivery is a packet of Owl and Pussycat biscuits – these are very simple vanilla biscuits, cut into the shapes of owls and pussycats. The illustration on the box is lovely, and the biscuits themselves taste homemade. From looking at the Artisan Biscuits website, it seems they offer lots of grown-up biscuits too – but the little owls are not something you’d want to miss out on. Abel and Cole also sell Lion and Mouse ones.

And as you can see from this little video, our cat Daisy is very keen for Abel and Cole to come and collect her. I think she feels a new life in a food shop would be a dream come true.

 

2 Responses to “Easter and eating”

  1. Liz Says:

    Belated Easter greetings. We’re planning a tofu and veg stir fry tonight, welcome relief from all of the Easter chocolate and cake. I could manage a piece of your coffee cake, though.

  2. melissa Says:

    yay for Abel & Cole! We’ve been customers for years now and still look forward to surprises in our box each week. This week it was avocados, so we had THE best homemade guacamole last night. 🙂


Leave a Reply

