Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

A visit to Bradgate Park April 11, 2010

Filed under: Places to go,Radio and TV — lauravw @ 3:45 pm

We’ve had a few days of spring sunshine here in the Midlands, and there is blossom everywhere – not to mention all the daffodils. Our luck is sure to run out soon, and so on Friday I grabbed the opportunity to visit Bradgate Park in Leicestershire while the skies were still blue.

When I was little, we lived in one of the nearby villages (Cossington – you can actually see my old house in this picture, it’s the one with the red door. My bedroom window was the one upstairs on the right.) and often visited Bradgate. Friday was the last day of the school Easter holidays, and the warm sunshine meant the park was packed with families. For me, the park is at its best when it’s quiet and peaceful, but I tried to remember that 20 odd years ago, I was one of those children running around that very same park, playing in the stream and making all kinds of noise.

As well as the streams and rocky scenery, there is another aspect to this park that makes it very appealing to children: a TARDIS. It doesn’t actually say it’s a TARDIS, but I think we all know that’s what it is. The signage says it’s a police box, but I’ve never seen the police anywhere near it, so I’m not buying that.

Have you been watching the new Doctor Who? I loved the first episode. The second one was on last night, and while I thought it was very creative and well-written, I found it rather sad and depressing. Not one I’d watch again – but hopefully the rest of the series won’t be so gloomy.

 

3 Responses to “A visit to Bradgate Park”

  1. Amy Says:

    What gorgeous scenery – it’s great to go back to childhood haunts isn’t it?! I loved the first episode of Doctor Who but missed the one last night – I hope it’s not too gloomy 😦

  2. Liz Says:

    You’re old house looks lovely. Haven’t yet tuned in to watch the new Doctor. Still getting over the departure of the last one.

  3. Liz Says:

    Sorry, that should be “Your”. I didn’t mean you were an old house!


Leave a Reply

