Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Sewing club May 14, 2010

Filed under: Crafts,Food,Sewing — lauravw @ 11:36 am

There’s an informal sewing club in these parts. While we call it sewing club, it’s a rare evening that we actually sew. More often than not, it’s simply tea and cake and gossip at someone’s house.

There are just two members (which makes it a whole person smaller than our previous organisation of some years ago- knitting club): me and my friend Eloise. Eloise, you may remember, is an artistic sort (take a look at her shop to see her beautiful greeting cards), and the other week she presented me with this little print she’d done.

This week’s meeting was at my house, and it was a baking-themed affair. We baked fairy cakes and cookies, and then we ate them. And of course there was plenty of tea. Not a stitch was sewed, but we did show off our recent projects and talk about our plans for future ones.

The fairy cakes are from the Hummingbird Bakery cookbook – vanilla ones, with vanilla buttercream icing. And the cookies are oatmeal cookies from the Little Red Barn baking book – I love these. We put chocolate buttons in half of them, but I think I prefer them without.

The cake cases were a gift from my mother – I have these pink and white spotty ones, and a matching set in brown and white.

 

3 Responses to “Sewing club”

  1. melissa Says:

    yay for informal craft groups! I’ve got two – one has been going for years up at a friend’s house in Walthamstow but is bit of a PITA to get to these days and has been on hiatus for babies and illness… The other is as local as it gets – the last Monday of every month, on one of the boats on our mooring (we take turns hosting). No slick graphics, I’m afraid, but we do have a good following and a wide diversity of craft, including Man Craft! yay!

  2. Ali Says:

    LOVE her crafty graphics. And the idea of a craft group made for two!

  3. Liz Says:

    That sounds like my sort of sewing group. Funnily enough, I’ve just ordered some new cupcake cases – red/white and brown/white spotty ones!


Leave a Reply

