Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Sewing a peg bag August 30, 2010

Filed under: Gifts,Sewing — lauravw @ 5:37 pm

The other day I had a sewing request from a friend: she wanted me to make her a new peg bag, based on her existing peg bag, which was on its last legs.

I like this sort of project: I already had enough fabric and so was able to start straight away, and the peg bag was quite simple so I knew I would be able to make the whole thing from start to finish in one go.

I sat for a little while with a pencil and paper, measuring all the various bits and making notes on how it seemed to have been assembled. Then I cut out the fabric and set to work sewing. I chose some sturdy ribbon for the strap, and remember making a mental note about which stage I would need to attach the strap. But mental note-making is not my strong point (rather than use my brain, I usually write everything down), and so it was that I came to assemble the whole bag without a strap, and had to unpick and reattach things. Oh well.

I’m pleased with how the finished item looks, and I’m starting to wonder about whether I should make more for gifts for people. Or even to sell – job security is not what it once was, and so anything that brings in a few pounds is worth considering. I’m not sure whether making peg bags counts as a get rich quick scheme, but it would be a start…

 

2 Responses to “Sewing a peg bag”

  1. Ali Says:

    Every little helps, as they say. And your peg bag looks very lovely. I am using a monstroity I cobbled together from an old teatowel. The design was not a good one, but I have not got round to improving on it.

  2. Erica Says:

    The bag looks great and I love that fabric! I always seem to have to unpick something when I sew. Par for the course I think.


Leave a Reply

