Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

The big adventure: shopping for fabric and craft supplies October 6, 2010

Filed under: Crafts,Shopping,Travel — lauravw @ 12:18 pm

As we travelled through California, Oregon and Washington, there were a few opportunities to treat myself to fabrics, ribbons, craft papers, and so on. I’ve come home with a little stash of things that will keep me occupied over the winter months. I like the idea that things I bought on the other side of the world will be entertaining me long after the holiday is over.

In San Francisco, I bought ribbons. There is a shop there selling nothing but ribbons – it’s like the promised land or something. Megan told me about it before we even arrived, so I had been looking forward to it for quite a while. It was much bigger than you might expect a ribbon-only shop to be, and I was able to spend quite a bit of time in there.

In Oregon, I bought a little bit of fabric, and in Seattle I bought a little bit more. I also spent some time (and money) in Impress Rubber Stamps, which is a little crafting shop that somehow carries an enormous range of stuff. I could spend hours in there (perhaps I did, I don’t know).

I like paper crafts, but – how can I put this tactfully? – I find that a lot of the places that sell stamps, papers, etc tend to err on the side of tacky… with too much emphasis on hearts and soppy messages and things saying ‘best mum ever’ and those kits for making your own cards that come with everything pre-cut and pre-chosen, so that there’s no need for the person making them to possess even an ounce of creativity or imagination… I’d better stop there before I get cross, and just admit that I’m a bit of a snob about these things. Anyway, Impress is NOT like that – they have beautiful things, and the sample projects that are scattered around the shop are as inspiring as any I’ve seen.

 

One Response to “The big adventure: shopping for fabric and craft supplies”

  1. I’ve bought from Impress online and yes, they do have some rather lovely stuff.


Leave a Reply

