Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

I know it’s too soon for Christmas stuff, but… November 23, 2010

Filed under: Christmas,Crafts — lauravw @ 8:46 pm

Amy Blackwell's festive cat creationsI am resolute in my view that it is not Christmas-time at least until advent begins, and even then I’m usually a bit slow off the mark in terms of putting up decorations and writing cards. I get cross when I see Christmas being celebrated too soon: town decorations being installed in October, mince pies for sale before we’ve even had Halloween, and so on. And yet… I have done most of my Christmas shopping. Already. So let me be among the first to wish you a happy Christmas (!), and then I can get away with telling you about some lovely Christmas projects I’ve seen around:

Amy Blackwell’s cat decorations, pictured here – I *love* these. I’m sure I’ve got some coloured felt somewhere around the house – though I suspect it’s in Halloween colours…

A simple Christmas bird garland over at Fabric Rehab. This looks relatively easy to make, and the end result is elegant – and it looks like the sort of project you could make with fabric you already have, thus sparing you from facing the shops in December.

The world’s smallest postal service, featured on Design Sponge – oh my goodness!

I also found some pretty stickers in John Lewis, which you can apply to windows to make them look festive. I bought a set of the bauble ones, for my mother to use in her house. She has glass double doors from the living room into the hall, so these will look really good there. (I couldn’t think of a good place for them in my home – we draw the curtains at dusk and so if I put them on our windows they’d be out of sight for much of the time we’re at home at this time of year…)

And in terms of Christmas shopping, I spent an evening pottering round the Lakeside Arts Centre at the University of Nottingham, admiring some of the goods for sale at Lustre. It’s an annual event where you can buy high-end handmade goods. There’s a wide variety of stuff on offer – some of it not to my taste, but we’re all different I suppose… (I’m resisting the urge to name and shame, but there were some oddities for sale!). There were two things I really wanted to take home with me, but following a moderately expensive trip to the dentist that very morning, my purse felt a little empty and so I made myself choose just the one: a narrow woollen scarf, made in Scotland by Yungi. This meant I could not buy the lovely mug and plate sets being offered by Catherine Hammerton, which was a shame – but at the same time my kitchen cupboards are rather full and so I would have had to boot something else out to make room for one of those.

Photo courtesy of Amy Blackwell. Thanks Amy!

 

3 Responses to “I know it’s too soon for Christmas stuff, but…”

  1. oh this is super cute!

  2. I’m not nearly so organised and have just started my Christmas shopping. I do agree that the start of the festive season seems to get earlier and earlier. I’ve spotted several houses in the town who have their Christmas trees and decorations up already.

  3. Caroline Says:

    hi Laura I know this is a really belated answer to your post but just to say thank you, this inspired me to make some little fabric birds and after a bit of googling I came up with this tutorial http://www.spoolsewing.com/blog/2008/05/16/bird-mobile/
    I then made these birds from scraps http://www.flickr.com/photos/tatooine/5288456025/
    I hope you had a lovely christmas am just catching up with your posts tonight..


Leave a Reply

