Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Cinderella in the 1940s February 9, 2011

Filed under: Places to go — lauravw @ 3:45 pm

Just over a week ago, I went to see a ballet version of Cinderella, choreographed by Matthew Bourne. I’ve been to a handful of ballets now, and this one was the best by a country mile. Every single aspect of the production was excellent: costumes, set design, music, and of course the dancing. It was set in 1940s London, with World War 2 raging in the background. Our tickets were a Christmas present from my mother, and she and I agreed that we were very tempted to go back to the theatre the next night to watch the whole thing over again. (It was rather expensive, but at the same time seemed to be good value for money.)

One of the male lead dancers was from Nottingham, and it was great to see the reception he got. He’s not from the best part of town, and to think a young man from that area could go on to be a ballet dancer is really encouraging.

Anyway, I don’t have the words to do it justice, so here’s a little video clip from Matthe Bourne’s website:

 

2 Responses to “Cinderella in the 1940s”

  1. PinkCat Says:

    Wow – it does look very dark and not at all how you imagine Cinderella being performed. I think I watched the clip with my mouth wide open. Having seen lots of classical ballets, this looks really innovative and challenging. I keep promising myself I will go and see a Matthew Bourne ballet at some point. They look great. Thanks for your little review. x

  2. Brilliant. I wanted to see it but we got tickets for the opera instead.


Leave a Reply

