Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Headed for Belgium February 16, 2011

Filed under: Places to go — lauravw @ 8:54 pm

In three weeks I shall be setting sail for taking the Eurostar to Belgium. I have never been to Belgium, despite the fact that for the past 32 years I have been toting round a very long Belgian surname. My grandfather, who I never met, was Belgian – but I don’t know any family members from that side of the equation.

I’m going with my mother to Brussels for a few days of pottering around, visiting patisseries (I am SO looking forward to the baked goods!). We’re hoping to fit in a day trip to Bruges and/or Ghent as well – depending on the weather and our energy levels.

Despite my Belgian ancestors, it’s a place I know very little about. I’ve certainly inherited their love of chocolate though, and will make sure there’s space in my luggage so that I can bring plenty back (on a somewhat related note, I’ll be visiting Switzerland again later this year, where I will also be stocking up on the good stuff). I’ve not had much time to research things either, but the time I did have turned up this amazing-looking hotel, which is where we will be staying. It’s the Pantone hotel – as in the books of colours – and I had no idea it existed until I stumbled upon their website when looking for hotels in Brussels. My mother’s a fan of the Pantone merchandise, and so I’m pretty sure she’ll like the hotel too, minimalist as it is.

I’ve borrowed a couple of guide books from a friend, but if you have any tips you’d like to share, please do get in touch or leave a comment. Thank you!

 

One Response to “Headed for Belgium”

  1. PinkCat Says:

    Hope you have a fab time. I’ve only been to Bruges but that was really lovely – lots of great lace.

    I know what you mean about having a surname from a particular place and having no connections to it. My husband’s surname is Irish – Doran, but he has never been there and doesn’t have any Irish family. His grandfather was the first of his great-grandparents children to be born in Manchester in the 1880s. Yet it would be nice to take a trip over the sea and find out where his family came from over a century ago. x


Leave a Reply

