Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Back from Belgium March 17, 2011

Filed under: Travel — lauravw @ 8:16 pm

So, I was in Belgium, and now I’m back. I got back on Sunday, and already that feels like a very long time ago, thanks to a couple of migraines and a difficult week at work (budget cuts, job cuts and other things that will be familiar to anyone working in the public sector these days). So before I forget all about what I got up to on my long weekend in Brussels, I wanted to write some of it down.

On Thursday morning, my mum and I caught a train to London, and from there we took the Eurostar to Brussels. I’d never been on the Eurostar before, and it was pretty simple and quick. I have to admit I am a little bit afraid of being in a train in a tunnel underneath the sea, but it all happens very quickly before you can start to worry about giant sea creatures and other tunnel-dwelling beings.

We headed straight for our hotel in a taxi (a word of warning if you’re planning a trip to Brussels: we found the taxis to be scruffy old things, and not the most appealing way of getting around). And our hotel was something a bit different: the Pantone Hotel. Our room was decorated mostly in white, with pops of purple on the walls. It was a nice place to stay (though the location is not central, it is actually very close to a decent shopping district), and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Pantone products are in evidence throughout the building: coloured sugar, coloured loo roll(!), painted bicycles, and there are plenty of interior design magazines to read in the reception area.

One of my favourite things was that each morning I walked out to a local deli to buy fresh almond croissants. They were delicious – we soon went from buying one each to buying an extra one and sharing it.

Lots more to tell you about next time!

 

One Response to “Back from Belgium”

  1. PinkCat Says:

    Hope you feel better soon. It doesn’t sound like you’ve come back to a very good week.

    Brussels sounds like a very colourful place and I’m intrigued to know about the shopping. Can’t wait to hear more!

    PS: Do you see Tintin and Snowy? x


Leave a Reply

