Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

April fools April 1, 2011

Filed under: This and that — lauravw @ 10:17 am

I love April fools day, and spent a good hour listening to the Today programme on Radio 4 this morning to see if they would pull any pranks. I find an April fool appearing in the midst of a serious news programme much funnier than one that comes from a more likely source. But with the news how it is these days, it’s not that easy to spot the jokes -the Bronx Zoo’s cobra story is not a joke (though it is amusing), but the piece about 3D radio just before 8am was just silly enough to be a joke. Londonist has done a round-up of other jokes being pulled on us by the papers, which makes for good reading.

Here are the other things I’ve been clicking on this week:

Emergency Preparedness on a Shoestring – this is a topic I’m still giving quite a bit of thought to, and it’s helpful to see that others are too. I plan to post about what plans I’ve made for emergencies soon – just as soon as I’ve got past the planning stage and actually *done* something…

How to make a patchwork quilt – Florence makes this look so easy!

Gluten-free recipes for your favourite cookies.

Another Tunnock’s pilgrimage at I Like. If this were a little bit nearer to Nottingham, I’d love to visit.

Tips for sewing with felt – this looks very useful. I have all kinds of projects I’d like to try using felt, but somehow I never get round to them.

The uncluttered closet – keeping only the clothes you love.

Living in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off – a guide to the goods you’ll need for your home. As a teenager, living in the world presented in this film was pretty much top of my wishlist.

I took this picture last Saturday, when we braved the cold weather to go to Wollaton Park in Nottingham. As you can see, our visit coincided with nap time for some of the residents.

This weekend I’m off to see the baby hares at my parents house – hopefully I will return with photographs.

 

One Response to “April fools”

  1. PinkCatJo Says:

    Pinch punch first day of the month!

    Have a fun weekend with the Hares! x


Leave a Reply

