Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Festive April 15, 2011

Filed under: This and that — lauravw @ 10:11 am

Next week is my birthday, but I’m celebrating it this weekend because I’ll be at work on the day itself. So I have grand plans in the shape of baking brownies and eating them with vanilla-scented whipped cream. I have a couple of meals out planned, and a few days of general laziness.

I was hoping to go on the big wheel in Nottingham’s Market Square, but they’ve already dismantled it and it has vanished. Which is annoying because I had the same plans last year, and the same thing happened. This year I am sure the website said it would be there until May. But it’s not, and that’s that.

We’ve not had any more visits from our hedgehog friend – I hope we’ll see him again, but most of all I hope he is finding nice places to go and good things to eat.

As usual, I continue to be distracted by things new and shiny, and recently I have been keeping track of some of them on Pinterest. Have you signed up to the site yet? You can request an invitation on the site, or I’d be happy to email you one if you’d like. I can be found here.

Usually, I keep a folder in my bookmarks of clothes from the current/upcoming season that I like the look of, but sticking them on Pinterest will be a lot more useful since I’ll be able to see pictures of everything all in one place. And I love seeing all the various goodies other people are finding and sharing.

This week it’s mostly been fabrics that have been catching my eye, which is strange as I don’t really have any sewing plans at the moment. I like the look of the latest collection by Denyse Schmidt, and this Hydrangea print is in two colours I’m very fond of, brown and yellow. I can definitely see me wearing that print in a top or skirt.

Whatever you’re up to, I hope you have a relaxing weekend!

 

4 Responses to “Festive”

  1. Ali Says:

    A pre-emptive Happy Birthday to you! I hadn’t thought of using pinterest to plan my clothes shopping, but it sounds like a good idea.

  2. Birthday brownies sound like a very good idea. Have a lovely time celebrating your special day.

  3. Caroline Says:

    Belated happy birthday Laura, hope you had a wonderful day.

  4. PinkCatJo Says:

    Sorry I missed your birthday Laura! Hope you had a lovely sunny day with lots of cake and gorgeous presents. x


Leave a Reply

