Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Cat toys April 26, 2011

Filed under: Crafts,Sewing — lauravw @ 7:09 pm

A few weeks ago Melissa shared a pattern she had created for a cat toy – the Kitty Kicker. I planned to make one for Daisy, and in the end (because I don’t have a printer at home) I made my own version by guessing the sizes and cutting out a rectangle of fabric.

The reason I was so keen on Melissa’s pattern in the first place was the shape, so I tried to make my toy along the same lines. Anyone who has a cat will have seen them use their front paws to pull a toy towards them, while using their back feet to repeatedly kick it away. If you’ve been really unlucky, they will have demonstrated this behaviour on your arm! Melissa’s Kitty Kicker is just the right shape for a cat to attack it in this way.

I found some dried catmint in a pet shop, and was able to test it out on Daisy. She’s not previously been interested in the stuff, but something has changed: this time, while I was trying to open the box to get some catmint out, she almost mowed me down trying to get to it. She actually sunk her claws into the packaging – and into my hand. So it’s safe to say that she likes it these days.

I also added a little bell, attached to some ribbon. I’m not sure if this adds to Daisy’s enjoyment, but every time I hear the bell tinkling, I know it means she is playing with her toy, and that makes me feel good.

And she really does kick it, just as Melissa intended – you may even be able to see the claw marks in her toy in this picture (Daisy’s is the top one – the one underneath was given to a neighbour’s cats).

 

3 Responses to “Cat toys”

  1. PinkCatJo Says:

    It’s such a lovely toy and beautiful material. You’ll have a very posh moggie! x

  2. Erica Says:

    Those turned out great!!! I love the striped ribbon. I downloaded that pattern when you posted about it and haven’t gotten around to making one yet. I need to get busy, I know my cat would love it!

    Hope you had a fantastic birthday!!!

  3. melissa Says:

    oh yayyy I’m so happy you made these and enjoyed them so much! The bell is a great idea – I’m so doing that on my next ones (after Bonk shreds the ones I’ve already made!).


Leave a Reply

