Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

The coming season May 27, 2011

Filed under: Fashion,Shopping — lauravw @ 12:36 pm

And I don’t mean summer. I mean autumn: it’s preview time amongst some of my favourite clothing manufacturers, and there are glimpses to be had of what we could be wearing towards the end of the year.

First up is Boden: their autumn collection can now be viewed on their preview website, and you can get 20% off if you order now. You won’t get your clothes for a few months though, because I expect they are still being made/transported on big ships from China and wherever else they manufacture. I’ve got my eye on a few things already: this skirt (in black flower power) and this dress (in charcoal). And a few other things may have also snuck into my shopping basket… I’ve not placed an order yet though – I think I need to mull it over for a few days longer.

Secondly, Kew. Kew is going to be rebranded,which I wasn’t pleased to hear (I can be a real stick-in-the-mud when it comes to change). I like their clothes, particularly their basics – they are very good at plain jersey tops and simple cardigans, for example. The rebranding comes hand in hand with new prices (upwards, naturally), and there will be greater use of more luxurious fabrics. To me, that sounds like more stuff that won’t go in your washing machine. I don’t know about you, but I only have to see the words ‘dry clean only’ to be put off buying a garment. (‘handwash only’ has a similar effect on me, but I am prepared to handwash a garment if there’s something really special about it). Having said all that, the clothes on display at the preview look very nice, and very much like the Kew of old. I shall reserve judgement.

Next: Cath Kidston. Cath Kidston did a preview of their new season products in London recently, and have published a set of photos from the day on their Facebook page. The product photos look to have been taken from some distance, so you only get the faintest glimpse of what will be on offer. UPDATE: I found some more close-up photos from the event.

Finally, H&M. Holly from Decor8 tweeted about their new season’s collections this morning. It all looks a bit too fashionable for me, but there are some good colours and interesting prints.

 

2 Responses to “The coming season”

  1. I don’t mind thinking about autumn as it’s my favourite season. Love Johnny Boden’s clothes but haven’t yet tried anything from Kew (though I now have my eye on a coat!). I also rely on Uniqlo for sweaters. Their cashmere polo necks are very good.

    P.S. Please look out for a belated parcel which is winging its way to you!

  2. PinkCatJo Says:

    Autumn and Winter are my favourite seasons to buy clothes. I love all the cosy jumpers, snuggly fabrics and cute hats and gloves. I’m annoyed about Kew as I was a really keen customer before and now it looks rather similar to Jigsaw and Whistles. Where have all the cute Liberty prints gone? x


Leave a Reply

