Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

The Mexican Pizza June 10, 2011

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 12:19 pm

Also known as: my new favourite pizza.

A few months ago I saw on the Craft blog a recipe for black bean and goat’s cheese pizza, and I’ve been wanting to make it ever since.

Last weekend, we finally got round to it, and it was delicious. We made the dough for the pizza in our bread machine, and then set about adding the toppings. The recipe calls for canned chillies in adobo sauce, which is not something I’ve been able to find here in the UK. But I found jars of smoked chipotle salsa in M&S, and thought that would make a good substitute – which it most definitely did. (So much so in fact, that I went to the shop this week to buy a few more jars for the future, but they seem to have sold out of it at our local shop at the moment. I shall keep checking…)

Other than that, we didn’t really make any changes to the recipe. We’d had fajitas the day before, and so had leftover guacamole, salsa, and sour cream, which really complemented the pizza and made all the flavours come together nicely. I plan to make this again VERY soon.

If you’d like to try it, you’ll find the recipe here.

What have you got planned for the weekend? I’m hoping to do a bit of baking. I’ve treated myself to two new baking books this year, and there are so many recipes I want to try out. I bought Claire Ptak’s Whoopie Pie book a while back, and then last week bought a secondhand copy of the Hummingbird Bakery cookbook. Lots of yummy things to make (and eat).

 

2 Responses to “The Mexican Pizza”

  1. melissa Says:

    ooh I’m a fiend for Mexican food. I’m growing my own tomatillos for the second year in a row, and I’ve actually got a tin of chipotle en adobo in my cupboard right now. You can get them at mexgrocer.co.uk or casamexico.co.uk or coolchile.co.uk

    (get some masa harina flour and ancho chiles while you’re at it! you’ll need both for all the best stuff in Thomasina Miers’ “Mexican Made Simple” book!!)

  2. That’s the first recipe for a bean pizza I’ve come across. It does look yummy and I do love goat’s cheese though am not so fond of smokey flavours.


Leave a Reply

