Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Hazelnut Madeira Tiramisu August 15, 2011

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 12:55 pm

I may have mentioned before that I rather like tiramisu. I don’t want you to get the impression that it’s all I eat or anything, but yes, I am fond of it, in all its guises. If you offer me some, I will not turn it down.

I have recently started making a new tiramisu-based creation, which is a combination of a few different recipes and ideas. Introducing Hazelnut Madeira Tiramisu. (If you are Italian, or have any Italian background whatsoever, please accept my apologies for altering one of your national dishes so much.)

This came about a few weeks ago, when I wanted to make tiramisu but could not find any sponge finger biscuits for sale in our local shops. I decided instead to buy the plainest looking cake I could find and use that instead, and so picked up a loaf of Madeira cake. Of course if time is on your side, you could make a Madeira cake and use that. But I was hungry!

Hazelnut Madeira Tiramisu

I used a smallish madeira loaf cake, and sliced it up quite thinly. I used the layers to line a dish with a flat bottom (I had some left over, and so also made a couple of small tiramisus in the bowls pictured in this photo, but flat-based dishes work best in terms of getting the liquid to absorb into the cake).

Then I made 300ml of strong black coffee, mixed with a tablespoon of sugar, and around 75ml of hazelnut liqueur*. I poured this over the cakes, and then grated a little bit of dark chocolate over everything.

Next, I used an electric whisk to beat 200ml of double cream, until it became thick and started to hold its shape. In a separate bowl, I beat 2 tablespoons of sugar with 250g of mascarpone cheese. I folded the cream into the mascarpone mix, and used the resulting mixture to top the cakes. I then grated some more chocolate over the top of everything.

Now, I must tell you that it tastes better after it’s spent a night sitting in the fridge. But if you can stick the whole thing in the fridge without eating any of it, you are a much stronger person than me.

*If you don’t want to splash out on a full bottle of hazelnut liqueur, you can buy miniatures of Frangelico, which are the perfect size for this recipe. That’s what I used first, but since then I’ve bought a bottle of Briottet Creme de Noisette. It was not cheap, so I’m doing some research on recipes for food and coctails that I can use it in – I’ll post my findings here once I get myself organised.

 

Leave a Reply

