Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

With nuts August 16, 2011

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 6:11 pm

As I mentioned in my last post, I went a bit over the top and bought a bottle of hazelnut liqueur. It wasn’t cheap, and there are other, more essential things that I probably should have spent that £23 on. So now I need to make sure I use every last drop of it, so that I don’t feel like I wasted my money.

Strangely, for someone who just spent £23 on liqueur, I don’t drink much these days. But I’m not tee-total or anything, so a certain amount of it will be drunk. I’ve been looking online for recipes and found some that sound quite appealing.

Drinks:

Frangelico and lime
Frangelico mule – I love things that have ginger ale in!
Frangelico Nutty Irishman – which seems to just be Frangelico mixed with Bailey’s and served over ice. Good call.

Eats:

Hazelnut cheesecake
Chocolate hazelnut rice pudding – this one is being marketed as a somewhat healthy option, and yet it sounds delicious.
Late night parfaits

So I have plenty of options when it comes to working my way through that bottle.

(In case you’re wondering, I’ve not been sponsored by Frangelico – the bottle of hazelnut liqueur I bought was actually a different brand. And they’re not paying me either!)

 

3 Responses to “With nuts”

  1. PinkCatJo Says:

    The rice pudding has to be tried! I want to see how it turns out. x

  2. Looking at the picture, I was expecting to see a link to a recipe using hazelnut liqueur with Marmite!

  3. […] To warm up, we went to the Homemade cafe, which was hosting a 1950s diner night – complete with a live band. It was packed – it seemed like we wouldn’t get a table, but luckily for us someone was ready to leave. The food was good, but it was the range of alcoholic milkshakes that appealed to me most – I had a brownie, amaretto and chocolate ice cream one (and I think I could have easily polished off a second one). I don’t know why it’s never occurred to me to put alcohol in a milkshake before, but I’m sure it won’t surprise you to hear that this is something I shall be trying out for myself VERY soon. I don’t have a bottle of amaretto (yet!) but I have a couple of other things that would work – Kahlua, Baileys, and that bottle of Creme de Noisette that I splashed out on a while ago… […]


Leave a Reply

