Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Seasonal cooking failures November 14, 2011

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 7:31 pm

I’m still here.

I’m just on a bit of a go-slow, and haven’t been on the computer so much. I have been doing some Christmas shopping – my aim is to get it all done by the end of the month, so that I can relax and enjoy December.

I have also been experiencing a (small) run of cooking failures. Well, failures is perhaps a little harsh, but successes they were not. Our neighbour gave us two enormous butternut squashes from her mother’s allotment, and we’ve really not done them justice. We have one left, and so I’m looking for recipes that will make it shine. Our mistake with the first one was to roast it – and leave it in the oven for rather too long. That resulted in a roast squash, red onion and creme fraiche pasta dish that was horrible. Inedible. Binned.

Being the efficient types we are, we’d roasted extra squash, to make into a risotto the following night (with plans for that to then provide leftovers for two lunches). But once you’ve over-roasted a butternut squash, you should just cut your losses and bin it. We didn’t, because we don’t like to throw food away. So we made a passable risotto – but didn’t bother preserving the leftovers.

Next up: cookies. Hmm. I tried a recipe for peanut brownie cookies, and again I think I overcooked them. They are somewhat crunchy. I had guests today, and didn’t offer them one, because I worried they might chip a tooth.

For tomorrow’s tea, I’m just going to heat up something from M&S. Hopefully that will clean the slate a bit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

