Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Afternoon tea January 23, 2012

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 2:45 pm

On Saturday afternoon we had two friends round for afternoon tea.

As you can see from this photo, I even borrowed a cake stand. I don’t have a cake stand of my own, and it’s not something I can use often – let’s just say our cat requires constant supervision, and it would not be wise to leave cakes on display for more than three seconds. It may sound like I’m being unfair, but she has a track record with this sort of thing… (Also applies to: lasagnes.)

These are tiramisu cupcakes, made using a recipe from a book I was given for Christmas – Life’s Better With A Cupcake. They were delicious – I shall be making them again very soon.

You make a simple cupcake mix using brown sugar, and then when you’ve baked them, you use a skewer to poke holes in the top. You mix up a simple sweetened coffee syrup, and drizzle it into the holes. The frosting is a mix of sugar, mascarpone cheese, and marsala wine (or, in my case, Kahlua). Happily, there was too much frosting, so I had to finish the leftovers.

We also served fondant fancies, as for some reason I find these to be a key component of afternoon tea. I love the lemon ones, and the pink ones, but can’t really understand why they bother with the chocolate ones – they don’t taste very chocolatey, and they clash a bit with the other flavours. Maybe some day they will be phased out, and I will be able to buy boxes of just the pink and yellow ones. Or maybe I should stop rambling and get on with some jobs round the house…!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Afternoon tea”

  1. Debbie Says:

    I love the cake stand and the cupcakes look and sound delicious!

  2. Ooh, me likey!

    (I was lucky enough to be given one of those cake dome things as a Christmas present which means I now have a stand with a cover.)


Leave a Reply

