Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Mini quilt February 6, 2012

Filed under: Crafts,Sewing — lauravw @ 10:59 am

I love looking at pictures of quilts people have made.

I even sort of like the idea of making a quilt someday… but then I think about how long it would take, how expensive it would be, and all the things that would likely go wrong while I worked on it. And that brings me back down to earth: I’ve just not got the patience for such a massive project.

So when I make things, they tend to be little.

I’ve had a week off work, and that gave me enough time to come up with the idea of making this cushion, and to actually get on and do it. I’ve got plenty of fabric on hand, so I decided I should make something with what I already had, no matter how tempting the new prints and patterns are.

I’ve used some of the prints here in other projects, and others are ones I bought on our trip to the Pacific Northwest last year. The plain yellow and green stripey fabric came from The Quilting Loft in Ballard, Seattle, and the grey/yellow ones with the wiggly lines came from a fabric shop in McMinnville, Oregon (a little town I really liked). I like buying fabrics when we travel – it’s nice to bring back something from a faraway place and make it part of your home.

The front of this cushion cover is made from 64 squares, and cutting those out was quite enough for me – I definitely couldn’t manage a whole quilt…

 

3 Responses to “Mini quilt”

  1. Sarah Says:

    That pillow is so pretty! I know what you mean about quilts – I own tons of quilting books but the task is so daunting. I’ve only made mini things, too. I made my mom a sampler crazy quilt that is on the wall of her house. I just don’t have the long attention span. There is a lot to be said about small items, though.

  2. Ali Says:

    You did a beautiful job! I too am a fan of small projects – it’s the lure of instant gratification.

  3. Megan Says:

    Yay! It’s so pretty. And I’m happy to see some familiar fabrics in there 😀


Leave a Reply

