Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Peanut butter chocolate chip cookies January 31, 2013

Filed under: Food — lauravw @ 6:50 pm

peanutcookiesThe cake tin needed filling up this weekend, and I wanted to try a new recipe. I have quite a large collection of baking books, and in some ways that can make it harder to choose a new thing to cook – there is so much to choose from and it’s easier to keep flicking through the pages than to make a decision. So I picked out a few books and decided the recipe I tried would have to be in one of them. It didn’t take long to settle on peanut butter chocolate chip cookies from the Hummingbird Bakery book, and I was very happy with my choice.

I halved the recipe, as it seemed like it would make an awful lot of cookies, possibly even too many (as hard as that may be to believe). That was the right thing to do – I ended up with 16 quite large cookies, which is just enough to eat up while they are still at their best.

This is going to sound terribly immodest, but these really are some of the best cookies I’ve ever eaten, let alone baked. I’m not taking all the credit for that, as it’s clearly just a very good recipe. But I do feel a bit smug about having made them. They are chewy and crunchy, salty and sweet, all at the same time. The recipe can easily be found online, and if you don’t have the book, it’s certainly a good investment – their vanilla cupcakes are also the best ones around. And the good news is that I’ve just spotted they have a new book out next month, called Home Sweet Home.

 

4 Responses to “Peanut butter chocolate chip cookies”

  1. PinkCatJo Says:

    These sound (and look) lovely. Peanut Butter Cookies remind me of a much-loved great aunt who used to make them as treats when I went to visit. I was given the Hummingbird Bakery Book but have never made anything from it. I think I always dismiss it as a ‘cupcake book’ and I’m not really a fan of those, preferring old fashioned fairy cakes. But I might just have to change my mind and have a look! x

  2. I made a vegan version recently. Have to agree they were very delicious and melted in the mouth.

  3. Ali Says:

    Okay – my half-batch is currently in the oven and from licking the bowl, I just know they are going to be good. Off to pour a glass of milk ready for the taste test! Thanks for the tip off.

  4. lauravw Says:

    Ali, I am looking forward to hearing how they turn out. And well done Liz for producing a vegan version!


Leave a Reply

