Busywork

Finding work for idle hands: making, baking and more.

Ups and downs May 7, 2012

Filed under: This and that — lauravw @ 10:08 am

I’m still here, just very quiet.

It’s been an odd month (and a bit), with a few ups and downs that have kept us busy. When we got home from our trip to Lincoln, we found out that a friend of ours had passed away. It was not entirely unexpected, but it was still a shock. It was several weeks before a funeral could take place, while various family members returned from their travels, and so it wasn’t until the week before last that we finally got to say a proper goodbye. We’re looking after our friend’s cats until such time as her family can take them on, so that has been keeping us busy too.

More stress came in the form of me starting a new job. It’s a very anxious feeling, preparing to start a new job – wondering if you’ve done the right thing, whether your new colleagues will be as nice as the old ones. Luckily for me, it became clear quite quickly that it’s going to be OK – the people are friendly, and the organisation I’m working for seems to be a positive place. Sigh of relief.

Thanks to the vagaries of part-time work, I’ve not actually left my old job yet, so for the past month I’ve been trying to keep track of two jobs. I’ve only got a couple more weeks of that though, which I’m glad about. Another sigh of relief.

Finally, we’ve been looking forward to a short holiday in Switzerland with my mother in June. But the airline we’d booked with back in January is going out of business, and has cancelled all of its flights. There were a few tears on hearing that news, but we’ve rallied round and booked a new holiday for the same dates, so there’s no excuse for us to be upset about that now. Our plan B holiday is to London, a place I’ve never actually been on holiday to. Of course I’ve visited lots of times, ever since I was a little girl, but never had an actual holiday there. The cost had always been a bit of a factor, but given that we’d all saved up for a trip to outrageously expensive Switzerland, our budget will cover it. We’ve got quite a list of places to go and things to eat, but if you’ve any suggestions, I’d love to hear them. Restaurant recommendations near Kensington/Notting Hill would be very welcome, since we’re staying in that area.

 

3 Responses to “Ups and downs”

  1. Ali Says:

    Sounds like a turbulent time. Sorry to hear about your friend and hope there’s smoother sailing in store for you. I have no specific London recommendations, but it really is the most fantastic place for a holiday. I’m sure you will have an excellent time.

  2. An odd month indeed and so very sad about your friend.
    Congratulations on the new job. It takes a while to settle in but it’s good that the early vibes are positive.
    Spending time in London will be great. I remember my brother taking me for a holiday there when I was 15. My mother arranged for us to stay with her friend’s brother who had “a little B&B somewhere”. Turned out to be a very swish hotel (lots of marble pillars and floors) in Eaton Place in Belgravia and a fellow guest was a famous film director of the day.

  3. […] been given the voucher as a thank you for looking after our friend’s two cats after she died last year – we cared for them for just over six months, and then found a new home for them. Her family […]


Leave a comment